Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > TMC 14 > General Medical

Old 02-18-2010, 12:24   #1
Andrew J
Asset

TEMS Training

As I said in my intro I’m trying to get into Tactical EMS. I’m an EMT-I working on my medic. I was given a chance to take a week long tactical medic program, but was unable to attend to due to finances. There is one coming up in April at my school that I would love to take. However, before spending the time and money I wanted to see what you all thought of the curriculum and if there are other courses I should look into that might make me a better candidate for working in this field.

This is the course curriculum.

* The Role of the Tactical Medicine Provider
* Pre-deployment Care/Keeping the Team Healthy
* Medical Threat Assessment and Barricade Medicine
* Operational Casualty Care/Tactical Casualty Care
* Wound Management
* Wound Ballistics
* Management of Blast Injuries
* Medical Aspects of Clandestine Drug Labs
* Distraction Devices and Less Than Lethal Weapons
* Crush Injury and Compartment Syndrome
* Dynamic Clearing Techniques and Team Movement
* Chem./Biological Weapons/Radiological Environments
* Pediatric Trauma Management Considerations
* Gear selection/Improvised Gear
* Tactical Medic Training
* Firearms
* Medical Incident Command
* Advanced Airway Management in the Tactical Environment
* Spinal Injuries/Removing Protective Gear
* Environmental Injuries
* Tactical Field Labs
* Forensics and Evidence Preservation
* Many additional topics will be addressed in the course

Any feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Andrew J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 15:43   #2
Doczilla
Guerrilla

We could provide better feedback if you told us which program you're going to. Most programs follow the same general principles but there are substantial differences in execution.

'zilla
Old 02-18-2010, 19:38   #3
Andrew J
Asset

More info