Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Professional Soldiers ® "Hall of Shame" > "Hall of Shame Inductees"

Old 07-09-2009, 16:11   #1
Team Sergeant
Quiet Professional

Derrell Douglas Gardner Jr

Derrell Gardner

Let me start by saying "thank you" to the people of Ft Myers for encouraging me to campaign for Mayor.
I am happily married with two small, beautiful children. I have been working and living in Ft. Myers for almost 12 years and can see the real potential of our city from a family and working man's point of view.

I graduated from Miami's Southridge Senior High in 1982. I then went into the U.S. Army for six years where I served in Special Forces. Mylast duty station was at the J.F.K Center at Ft. Bragg, N.C.After serving my country, I wanted to see more of the country and spent time in MO, TX, TN and then returned home to Florida. Of all the skills I learned, my custom made furniture business, which I started in 1987, was my favorite and was the most universally accepted. When I moved to Ft. Myers in 1997, I was quickly able to earn a living with it. After all, I had been mentored by my Grandfather and father since I was five.
However, my business, like so many others, has had to adapt with thechanges thrown at it over the years. While offering beautiful furniture, I found a need for appliances and other home improvement items so I started that business as well. Eventually, I opened a thrift shop on Hansen St. where folks could come and browse. Since I now had a supply of building material, I began to rehab homes in our neighborhood that had fallen into disrepair. After all, I am a carpenter by trade. While rehabing homes, I was brought face to face with many of the problems plaguing city government today. I ran up against obstacles in almost every department.
Some of which were so silly I felt that they certainly could be handled better.
While talking to folks, I discovered many others had the same problems.