Old 09-17-2008, 19:57   #1
Atomsk
SF Candidate

Learning Chinese

(I searched before I created this topic, but nothing answered my questions.)

I plan on enlisting with the 18X option a few years after I graduate, and eventually becoming a SF soldier. Now I might be getting ahead of myself here, and like i've read here on the boards, I should "concentrate on the 25m target". On top of that I know that just because I know a language; it dosen't mean i'll get the placement that I want, because my preferences take second place to the needs of the Regiment.

So my question to the soldiers in 1st Group is this:

I'm currently a university student, and i've been studying chinese for about 2 semesters now. My question is, apart from the credit i'm getting for the classes, would learning chinese be of any use to me in the near future? I know that China is quickly becoming a world power, and I figured learning the language would be a good idea regardless of whether i'm a civilian or a soldier.

Since the people here have more experience on the subject than I do, any input would help.
Atomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 05:40   #2
Jack Moroney (RIP)
Quiet Professional

[QUOTE=Atomsk; My question is, apart from the credit i'm getting for the classes, would learning chinese be of any use to me in the near future? /QUOTE]