Go Back   Professional Soldiers > The Pipeline (Special Forces Training) > 18C

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Forms for the new 18 Charlie
Old 07-11-2008, 16:38   #1
18C4V
Quiet Professional
 
18C4V is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,068
Forms for the new 18 Charlie

I thought I would post this due to the new charlies coming into our unit from the Q course who have no clue on the admin side of the 18C.

I suggest you load up pure edge (you can download the viewer free from AKO )if you don't have a team computer and have these forms handy.

DD 1750 (packing list)
DA 2062 (hand receipt and shortage annex)
DA 2404 (Equipment, Inspection and Maintenance Form PMCS)
DA 3161 (request for issue or turn in)

One thing, I learned over the years is to have a shortage annex of all your major end items already done. So it's a matter of printing it and having the team members fill it out which helps with post deployment reseting of gear.

This is a useful website for the new 18C and 18B with subcomponent listing. You'll need to log on and register with it.

http://www.armyproperty.com/

Did I say I hate being a charlie?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-07-2008, 18:41   #2
akunochi
Asset
 
akunochi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20
Hey I wanted to commend you on this post. I am a new charlie (well in a month....), but luckily I have been a HRH before and know the nightmare of inventory and components. I only excpect it to be 10x's worse on a team. SO props.
  Reply With Quote

PureEdge for a Mac
Old 08-12-2008, 14:44   #3
TexasEngineer
Asset
 
TexasEngineer is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ft. Bragg,NC
Posts: 13
PureEdge for a Mac

Has anyone had any success using PureEdge with a Mac? I have tried going through AKO and I had no luck.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-14-2008, 10:23   #4
akunochi
Asset
 
akunochi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasEngineer View Post
Has anyone had any success using PureEdge with a Mac? I have tried going through AKO and I had no luck.
I haven't heard of anyone having any luck. Perhaps try to email the programming company and ask.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-14-2008, 11:11   #5
Prester John
Quiet Professional
 
Prester John is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pinehurst
Posts: 252
Might I suggest using VMWare's Fusion?

Windows virtual machine for Dual OS

Doug
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-14-2008, 13:09   #6
greenberetTFS
Quiet Professional (RIP)
 
greenberetTFS's Avatar
 
greenberetTFS is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Carriere,Ms.
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prester John View Post
Might I suggest using VMWare's Fusion?

Windows virtual machine for Dual OS

Doug
I'm using Parallels Desktop 3.0 for Mac with Vista and it works great.....
__________________
I believe that SF is a 'calling' - not too different from the calling missionaries I know received. I knew instantly that it was for me, and that I would do all I could to achieve it. Most others I know in SF experienced something similar. If, as you say, you HAVE searched and read, and you do not KNOW if this is the path for you --- it is not....
Zonie Diver

SF is a calling and it requires commitment and dedication that the uninitiated will never understand......
Jack Moroney

SFA M-2527, Chapter XXXVII
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2008, 11:12   #7
Frenchie
Asset
 
Frenchie is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 8
Thanks for the post, useful information.
  Reply With Quote

Cheaper Options
Old 05-31-2009, 21:08   #8
TexasEngineer
Asset
 
TexasEngineer is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ft. Bragg,NC
Posts: 13
Cheaper Options

I have looked into these parallel programs, and they involve buying Windows as well. Or am I mistaken? Any alternatives to avoid having to buy Windows would be appreciated. I just found this, I will report back after trying it out myself.

http://www.grants.gov/section678/Pur...rMacintosh.pdf

Last edited by TexasEngineer; 05-31-2009 at 21:13.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2009, 21:51   #9
charlietwo
Quiet Professional
 
charlietwo's Avatar
 
charlietwo is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: N of S, E of W
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18C4V View Post
Did I say I hate being a charlie?
And I was thinking that we just played with demo What a mind-f*** that was!
__________________
Blake Miles
Green Beret Foundation
Next Ridgeline Program Manager
De Oppresso Liber
  Reply With Quote

A related question
Old 06-01-2009, 06:38   #10
bravo22b
Guerrilla
 
bravo22b's Avatar
 
bravo22b is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 207
A related question

Does anyone have any insight into using Pure Edge with Vista on a PC? It supposedly will not work, and I have spent some time looking into it, trying to find a work-around.

My personal laptop came with Vista, and I would like to put Pure Edge on it. I am just computer-literate enough to be dangerous. I successfully put a VM Ware virtual machine on my computer at work, but my general rule is to mess with computers as little as possible. My laptop runs really well right now, and I don't want to mess it up.

That said, anyone with experience in this problem?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-2009, 07:25   #11
Ret10Echo
Quiet Professional
 
Ret10Echo's Avatar
 
Ret10Echo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Occupied America....
Posts: 3,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravo22b View Post
Does anyone have any insight into using Pure Edge with Vista on a PC? It supposedly will not work, and I have spent some time looking into it, trying to find a work-around.

My personal laptop came with Vista, and I would like to put Pure Edge on it. I am just computer-literate enough to be dangerous. I successfully put a VM Ware virtual machine on my computer at work, but my general rule is to mess with computers as little as possible. My laptop runs really well right now, and I don't want to mess it up.

That said, anyone with experience in this problem?

Just wandering through the Charlie house.....

-BUT-

You may gain some more focused answers over in the "KnuckleDragger Questions" forum.....

R10
__________________
"There are more instances of the abridgment of freedom of the people by gradual and silent encroachments of those in power than by violent and sudden usurpations"

James Madison
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-2009, 16:08   #12
exsquid
Quiet Professional
 
exsquid is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lower Alabama
Posts: 471
I r a charley. I make boom. I du PureEdge wit Vista. No problamb.

x/S
__________________
If not us, than who?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-2009, 16:10   #13
Ret10Echo
Quiet Professional
 
Ret10Echo's Avatar
 
Ret10Echo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Occupied America....
Posts: 3,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by exsquid View Post
I r a charley. I make boom. I du PureEdge wit Vista. No problamb.

x/S
LOL...

Glad to see the custom dictionary in spell check is working well
__________________
"There are more instances of the abridgment of freedom of the people by gradual and silent encroachments of those in power than by violent and sudden usurpations"

James Madison
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-2009, 17:15   #14
bravo22b
Guerrilla
 
bravo22b's Avatar
 
bravo22b is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 207
Quote:
I r a charley. I make boom. I du PureEdge wit Vista. No problamb.
Thanks for the input. Maybe I will just try loading it and see what happens.

Quote:
Just wandering through the Charlie house.....

-BUT-

You may gain some more focused answers over in the "KnuckleDragger Questions" forum.....
I considered starting a new thread over in the "Knuckledragger Forum", but I figured since there was already discussion of Pure Edge on this thread, I would give it a try.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2009, 15:07   #15
bravo22b
Guerrilla
 
bravo22b's Avatar
 
bravo22b is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 207
FWIW, there is a CW3 out there with a web site with instructions on PureEdge with Vista, as well as some other Army-relevant software stuff.

http://militarycac.com/pureedge.htm

Long story short, it appears that the newest version works well with most Vista machines. So far, it is working on mine.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:21.



Copyright 2004-2017 by Professional Soldiers
Site Designed, Maintained, & Hosted by Hilliker Technologies