PDA

View Full Version : Fighting with gear

Desert Fox
12-19-2004, 12:49
Hi,
I would like to start a thread about special techniques related to a fight with personal equipment and/or weapon and/or rucksack. I think it can be very useful for CQB when close and surprise encounters are very likely to happen.
I have no experience in such fighting, and I don't know what training members of this board received.

Few points that come in my mind are:
-legs are becoming a decisive weak point;
-an unslung weapon can be thrown on a very close target, immediately followed by another attack, or the use of secondary weapon;
-arms are not very effective, except on an unprotected head;
-front kick (very difficult to block) can be used to just push away the threat, destabilize it, and pull out the secondary weapon. Even with a chest rig or protection, it is very hard to resist a sharp and powerful front kick;
-the importance of a knife;
-a bended charge (usually used by heavy weights) can still be easily blocked with the knee, since the nose is almost always exposed. A bended charge is particularly vulnerable to a counter-strike with a knife on the back;
-the importance of unconventional attacks. (i.e. spiting of throwing objects);
-with rucksack comes the disadvantage of lack of balance;
-a slung carbine can still be used to push away;
-knife is a finishing tool, not a starting one.

I think a good goal of any technique is to destabilize the threat, enabling the use the secondary weapon.

Another interesting aspect is a training with corners, stairs, etc.. I.E. What if on the down side of a stair.

Any ideas??

Martin
12-19-2004, 14:21
-a bended charge (usually used by heavy weights) can still be easily blocked with the knee, since the nose is almost always exposed. A bended charge is particularly vulnerable to a counter-strike with a knife on the back;

What do you mean? A roundhouse low kick?