PDA

View Full Version : Remington ACR or DSA SA58?

Arma Viri
11-10-2011, 03:37
Gentlemen,

Since I'm new to this website let me introduce myself briefly before I start my first thread.

I am a student located in The Netherlands. I'm working on a bachelors degree in history, which I need in order to do a masters in military science. I did part of my training at the Royal Netherlands Military Academy and will attend the Netherlands Defense University during masters. I have no service experience.

I'd like to hear the opinion of the 'men on the ground' regarding two weapon systems.
Would you either prefer the Remington ACR in 6.8SPC or the DSA SA58 in 7.62? From what I understood, 6.8SPC was developed by SOCOM, with Remington providing the hardware infrastructure. You probably all know of the reports and claims made on the internet about 6.8 being superior to both 5.56 and 7.62 in the carbine/rifle role (flatter trajectory, better terminal ballistics etc). First of all, is this actually true, does any of you have any experience with 6.8? And secondly, would any of you still prefer 7.62 in most situations considering lessons learned in Iraq and A'stan? What is the better weapon system and caliber in your book?

DSA FAL-SA58 links

www.dsarms.com/products.asp?dept=8

www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmJhFIPKmcc&feature=related

Remington ACR links

www.remingtonmilitary.com/RemingtonMilitary/Firearms/Carbines/ACR.aspx

www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoa-rJkHReM

DevilSide
11-10-2011, 06:33
You forgot to post an introduction :( Its the first thing you do before you post, go back to your email and re-read.

Arma Viri
11-10-2011, 10:28
You forgot to post an introduction :( Its the first thing you do before you post, go back to your email and re-read.

Mea culpa. I read http://professionalsoldiers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11578 but put to much emphasis on the 'Everyone does not need their own personal thread for introductions.' I'll post my introduction in the proper section.

DbeforeD