PDA

View Full Version : Religion

JAH687
07-16-2011, 05:10
Hi guys, my name is Jordan (new on this forum) and I'm starting Army ROTC in August. Hopefully I'll one day get the opportunity to train for SF and make it to an a-team. But here's my question. I find myself now at a point in my life where I'm totally confused about my own religious beliefs and spirituality. I personally feel a strong force guiding me in my life that pushes me to work harder and always to try to do the right thing. But as a self-proclaimed man of science (my major is chemistry) and a former atheist, I find it hard to totally justify following any organized religion because I can't say that I agree totally with any of them. How has religion or spirituality effected your SF careers or your decision to join SF? I apologize if something like this has already been posted, I used the search button but could not find anything. If something already exists, please just redirect me and I'll be on my way. Thanks!

Pete
07-16-2011, 05:21
As with everywhere and everyone - this subject covers the whole range left - right & up - down.

You may resolve this by talking with others.

But it does not become an issue unless you make it one.

Eagle5US
07-16-2011, 05:45
It has provided me with targets on multiple occasions.:D

Ret10Echo
07-16-2011, 05:54
...my own religious beliefs and spirituality...

Exactly... you will determine what that IT is for you.

As Pete stated, this subject covers the whole range left - right & up - down.

Only advice: Don't confuse "religion" (doctrine and dogma) with "faith"

spottedmedic111
07-16-2011, 06:05
Many in SF are Christians, many are not. Leave others alone and they'll leave you alone, that's the best advice I can give.

greenberetTFS
07-16-2011, 06:33
Faith is important but not unless you know that having it not enough...........It's more important to know who your faith in, Jesus...............:D

Big Teddy :munchin

Dusty
07-16-2011, 07:03