PDA

View Full Version : ParetoLogic PC Health Advisor

Ambush Master
10-16-2010, 08:43
Is it a good idea to use a service like this to "Update" your Drivers and Manage your system??

Paslode
10-16-2010, 09:13
It would bother me that when selecting 'Purchase' you get a screen requesting personal information and no mention of a purchase price.

I am by no means a PC expert, but my experience with these type of tools is that don't perform as expected. And on a few occasion's getting the software off my PC was a real PITA.

dr. mabuse
10-16-2010, 09:24
Registry Mechanic is all I've ever used. Easy to remove, doesn't "fix" or clean out too much, easy to use. No funny business when purchasing. Doesn't manage drivers yet it's a great cleaner.

IMHO, very highly recommended. ;)

JJ_BPK
10-16-2010, 09:34
Is it a good idea to use a service like this to "Update" your Drivers and Manage your system??

I use MS WIN update in manual mode. I read most all the briefs on the update to see what is effected by the change.

It's a bit geeky, but if there is a problem after the installation, I can guess what the cause may be.

My avg, FoxFire, and several other security pgms have their own update process. Some are auto-daily while others will only check when used.

I use Ad-Aware and Spy-bot SD to alert when ANYONE tries to change ANYTHING in the register.

If you subscribe to a service to do updates, you have given the service pertinent data on your system configuration. Bad Bad Bad...

Net-Net,, I do not like any AUTO anything.. But them I have been in the geek business for 43 years...

For the non-geeks, I advise getting apple. Which are now all make in china with chinese designed & made wifi chips that send data to who-ever,, on your dime..

:D

dr. mabuse
10-16-2010, 20:12
Net-Net,, I do not like any AUTO anything.. But them I have been in the geek business for 43 years...

:D

Superb advice.