PDA

View Full Version : I was a poser

Divemaster
11-03-2008, 03:00
When I was in the 18B course (SFQC 6-88), there was a SWC instructor selling t-shirts and sweat shirts with designs for each of the Phase 2 courses. Of course, many of us young studs bought apparel with our soon to be earned MOS's. Long story short, I graduated and enroute from Bragg to Ft. Lewis I stopped near Denver to visit me dear old mum.

Mom wasn't the party Cossack I was at 25, so one night I headed out on my own..wearing my new 18B sweat shirt. I haven't been that stupid since the day after graduating Ranger school. So...there I was in a suburban bar wearing my badass 18B sweatshirt. Next thing I know, some old fart of at least 40 (I'm 45 now) is in my face saying he's going to kick my ass for posing as an SF guy. Now, at this time I wasn't familiar with the term Quiet Professional. But then, neither was this guy. He said he was a Vietnam SEAL.

My protests of having just finished the course and actually earning the 18B MOS fell on deaf ears. He (the "SEAL") had a friend on hand who pulled him away before it came to blows.

And that's the story of how a SEAL taught me how to be a QP.

CPTAUSRET
11-03-2008, 08:04
When I was in the 18B course (SFQC 6-88), there was a SWC instructor selling t-shirts and sweat shirts with designs for each of the Phase 2 courses. Of course, many of us young studs bought apparel with our soon to be earned MOS's. Long story short, I graduated and enroute from Bragg to Ft. Lewis I stopped near Denver to visit me dear old mum.