PDA

View Full Version : Labor Unions

Roguish Lawyer
05-20-2004, 10:13
I am curious what people think about them. A few topics:

1. (Poll question included) Do you consider yourself generally to be pro- or anti-union? Why?

2. Have you ever crossed a picket line? Under what circumstances?

3. Do you believe that unions tend to be corrupt organizations that do not serve their members well?

4. Are unions anti-consumer?

5. Do you care about union endorsements when you vote?

Sacamuelas
05-20-2004, 10:45
1. currently anti (in general)
2. N/A
3. Yes
4. No, self serving with 1st priority its own leadership, then constituents
5. No.. not back when I worked for the state, not when I now work as a fed employee.

Story: Recently I changed my clinic hours at work. Myself, my assistants, and the hygienist all wanted and asked for this change to be made for our personal convenience. I got it approved by my immediate supervisor, deputy commander (AF O-5), our installation commanding officer (Navy 0-6), and up the chain all the way to civilian who literally answers directly to D. Rumsfeld. Believe it or not, that is what it took for final approval and all the CYA being done by the lower level supervisors in case someone griped about it. Voila... that was easier than I thought.

Not so fast!

Guess what? Even though I had it approved by the entire chain of command, I still couldn't enact the schedule change. Why you ask?...
"The Union" has to approve it too. Well, I figured it was a slam-dunk since it was us asking for this change to benefit the employees. Should be a rubber stamp with the union- much easier than getting all the power people on the Admin side of the Gov. to approve it.