PDA

View Full Version : Weapons training advice

Team Sergeant
03-16-2008, 11:09
Ever wonder why we have millions of golfers (hackers) and only a handful of individuals playing the game on a professional level? Many will tell you they can play golf but only at a very basic level.
Same goes for professional runners, bowlers, tennis players etc. What separates the pro's from the amateurs, it begins their training and then continues with their commitment to their sport.

When I train individuals I always ask at what level does that person believe he or she is currently at in their weapons training the answers very from a beginner to intermediate and I've had some that will answer "I'm a weapons instructor" I then usually ask them to shake my hand and attempt to crush my hand at the same time. This action identifies their strength level in their wrist and forearm.

A weak grip tells me the individual is not an advanced shooter and will have a long road ahead to become a great shooter. Conversely a strong grip tells me that they have the necessary physical strength to become an advanced shooter and if they have been shooting a long time there might be some quarks to watch for such as a "controlled jerk".

Most golfers are hacks and play just to relax. They might have taken a few lessons and then feel they know enough to play. And most just learn the game from their buddies and don’t bother taking any lessons. Again, they don’t mind as I mentioned they are there to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The same goes for the weekend shooting enthusiasts, they also have taken a few lessons, maybe none and off they go to the range, and like the golfers they go to relax, shoot and enjoy the company of like minded individuals.