PDA

View Full Version : Life paths and decisions, would like some guidance

MonkeySpunkey
01-31-2007, 20:41
I am a sophomore in high school at the moment, and have my mind set on SF. Read through Get Selected for SF twice (thanks WM!), and I'm certain it's what I want.

At the moment, I have the options after graduating of working on an oilrig and making a large amount of money (50-60k/yr) until I'm 20 and enlist (18x minimum age requirement),

or go to college and get a 2 year degree (probably business) then enlist,

or enlist right after high school, serve infantry for a couple years, then fill out the application for SFAS.

A couple side points about my plans, the college plan bugs me because I'm afraid it would be a waste of time until I can enlist. While business (stock and real estate investment in particular) interest me, I can't imagine a business degree coming much in handy in SF unless we need to negotiate a trade for donkeys with some insurgents in a third world country.

About the immediate enlistment plan, I was thinking it might be a good plan to go through RIP and Ranger School, but then I read that Rangers really discourage people using the 75th as a quick stepping stone to SF.

Do you believe it is likely that a 20 year old 18x recruit would be mature enough to be a useful part of an ODA? Even if he has no tours, just an open mind and dedication?

What is your opinion on the college idea? Is it a waste of time, or would it be useful in getting some life experience and mental skills?

If I do immediately enlist, would you recommend RIP and Ranger School, and then going for SF as soon as I can?

I would appreciate any opinions on my plan, as it is easily subject to change, and what you guys say will have a large bearing on which path I take.

-Jon

P.S. I spent a half hour searching this site for "college," "degree," and "university." The only relevant topics I found were one about becoming 18A, and another about exactly which major to get.