Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > UWOA > Briefback

Old 01-22-2005, 09:32   #1
QRQ 30
Quiet Professional

Exclamation Credit to the " Little People".

Reading "Secret Commandos" and the section on "Toe Poppers". reminds me that sometimes we get all of the credit for our recon operations.

The montagnards were more than just extra guns. They were, in many ways, my teachers. I was on the ground for less than 24 hours when I became an instant 1-0. When it came to moving and surviving in the jungle I was a willing student.

The Yards would survey a site/trail and place a toe popper where someone just had to step. They would even rearrange the landscaping to channel someone to the "proper spot". Their success was evidenced by the sound of the detonating mines.

I think they actually had one of them assigned to keep me straight. If I touched a tree or limb he would correct me and then demonstrate how the vibration of the leaves could indicate our presence.

They covered our trail constantly. If someone in front bent a twig or grass, the next man would bend it back the other way. Like deer or other wild animals their senses were much sharper than mine. They could hear and smell things long before me. While I heard nothing, they would tell me how many people were approaching. They even got me to smoking montagnard tobacco.

I would show my 0-1 where I wanted to go and he would get us there, usually departing 180 deg off track and arriving by a circuitous route.

Even with the 1-0 school (before my time) we learned the technical skills of communications, insertion/extraction, etc. but we were still the rookies. Most inherited teams of indig with years of experience. The most important phase was building up a mutual respect and raport with one's team. Mine even followed me to town and stayed outside the bars in case I overloaded my mouth and needed bailing out.