Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces > 3rd Special Forces Group

Old 04-19-2011, 10:06   #1
nola181
SF Candidate

3rd Group AOR Change?

I recently was selected at SFAS class 11-05, and was assigned 3rd Group/French. I changed my language to Dari because I thought it would be more valuable and because I already am proficient in French. In addition to studying Dari, I am studying French to get back to where I was a few years ago (2+/2+ DLPT). I have heard from a few different places that 3rd Group's AOR is going to change soon, and will no longer cover any countries in Africa. Can anyone confirm or deny this? I am trying to determine if it is worth it for me to continue studying French, or if I should focus completely on Dari if 3rd's AOR will no longer encompass any area of Africa. Thanks for any help.
nola181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 11:11   #2
krod
Quiet Professional

yes and we addressed that during the brief that we gave you prior to selecting your language and MOS, might as well keep your french up, you can get paid for both.
krod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 11:25   #3
nola181
SF Candidate

Thanks for the info. I'm an 11A and none of the As attended those briefs so I wasn't sure if what I heard guys talking about was speculation or fact. Thank you for confirming though.
Old 04-19-2011, 13:12   #4
Pete
Quiet Professional

Dari vs French

Dari - estimates put Darie speakers at around 12-15 million mostly clustered in the central asian area of Afghanistan.

French - other than France - it's the official language of the UN and most international organizations. Around 145 million folks in the Euro zone speak French to some degree - and something like 27-29 countries have French as their official language.

Now I ain't sayen' but.............

OK, Dari will be a good work language but when some "Hey You" comes down where they need someone who can speak French................