Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > The Pipeline (Special Forces Training) > Special Forces Assessment & Selection

Old 10-12-2011, 14:27   #1
ScubaNinja
SF Candidate

Through hell or high water

I have another send the message to Garcia story. It has been really inspiring to read some of the other stories of guys fighting tooth and nail just to get their chance at Selection so I thought I'd share mine in hopes I might inspire others.
Just like many of you it has been my dream to be a Special Forces Soldier since I was a boy. I joined the Marine Corps Infantry when I was 17 in 2004. I was deployed to Fallujah, Iraq in 2006. When I graduated college in 2009 I set out to fulfill my dream of going SF.
I called recruiters all across the country and was told I had wait out my Marine reserve contract. This meant I had to put my life in a holding pattern I have now sadly come accustomed to. I did so. Then in 2010 after six months of battling I managed to get a contract with 20th group. They let me start drilling with the unit in late 2010, but said I would still have to complete the try-outs when they came up before I could go to Selection. I TRAINED MY ASS OFF for it, but when it came around it was canceled last minute because it happened to be on the same day as now one of three near government shutdowns. That was about seven months ago.
I decided to just go Active Duty because I realized all I wanted to do in life was go SF. Also, being a recent college grad I was still in the holding pattern I described because I never thought I was going to be around long enough to make any real career moves. The sacrifice is OK with me, all I want to do is go to Selection.
I've spent the last seven months annoying the piss out of an active duty recruiter, and trying to get him to get my 18x contract. Of course there's been trials and tribulations at every turn. The latest is they can't find my medical records, and I'm basically doing my recruiters job for him and tracking them down.