Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces Weapons > Edged Weapons

Old 09-03-2012, 17:25   #1
denslen
Asset

Buck knife upon graduation from Q Course?

When my older brother graduated from the Q course many years ago he was given a Buck 110 folding knife with the crest on it. He didn't tell me too much about it-is there any tradition to getting a Buck knife upon graduation?
Something about "Go for the Buck knife"???
He gave it to me that evening and I still have it, pristine, and it's one of my most prized gifts...just curious on the history behind it.
thanks in advance
Derek
denslen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 17:38   #2
Ambush Master
Quiet Professional

I'm sure that you are one of the "Lost Introductions" since you joined so long ago, but it wouldn't hurt to make a Post in the Intro Thread!!
Old 09-03-2012, 17:48   #3
Dusty
RIP Quiet Professional

All I got when I graduated the Q Course was a huge bar bill from Pedro.
Old 09-03-2012, 19:15   #4
18C4V
Quiet Professional

Was your brother a 18C? Ten plus years ago it was tradition for the 18C Engineer Honor Grad to get a buck knife. This was prior to the current tradition of issuing the Yarborough Knive to all SFQC Grads.
18C4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 19:44   #5
VVVV

I bought a 110 (it was popular) in the old SF bookstore on SBH...in '66. Snapped off the blade throwing it into a tree at CMK....replaced it with a 120, which I still have today.
Old 09-03-2012, 20:06   #6
denslen
Asset

He was an 18A. Has the crest on it with a "10" over the top of it. Don't know if he was the honor grad or not...he's not the type to talk about things like that. He went through around 1990 I believe. Was 1/10 charlie company. I was lucky enough to get to go visit him in Germany several times.
denslen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 20:38   #7
Razor
Quiet Professional