Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces > Special Forces Questions

Old 01-28-2011, 17:39   #1
FFnavy
Asset

Best route for SF?

Hello and thank you to all who serve / served. My question is in regards to which path is best for a successful Special Forces career (though I feel that this will be a painfully obvious question). I am prior service Navy with a background in Intel. I was in BUD/s class 260 but was dismissed for a shoulder injury. My injury has been corrected and I'm now a Firefighter and a member of the Navy Reserves (Intel). I have become VERY interested in the Army and Army SF. I have been talking with a National Guard Recruiter about SF in the Guard. He stated that he can put me in the Army as 11B (I have a release from the Reserves) and I can return home and immediately try out at my local SF unit. Now I feel that if I were the unit I would not want to select someone new to the Army therefore I feel that I would not get selected. The Active Duty Recruiter stated he could put me in the Army as Intel and I could then request SF and go through selection and the rest of the pipeline. Which in your professional opinion would be the best route to take? National Guard SF or regular active duty SF for a prior Navy guy? I would love to deploy and get all the training I can. Do note that I did join the Navy to be a SEAL. SW / SF has always been my goal. Please advise on what would be the best course of action for Army SF. Thank you for all that you do. -Eric

Edited by Richard - root => route
FFnavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 17:44   #2
Dusty
RIP Quiet Professional

Read all the information you can get your hands on, a la forum rules-stuff like that.
Old 01-28-2011, 18:01   #3
JJ_BPK
Quiet Professional

Location: 18 yrs upstate NY, 30 yrs South Florida, 20 yrs Conch Republic, now chasing G-Kids in NOVA & UK
Dusty, dear dear sole, You forgot to add the bit about the email??