Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > The Bear Pit > PT/ H2H

Old 07-03-2009, 18:41   #1
Eagle5US
Quiet Professional

Question Old Broken guys and fitness systems

So...with all these "systems" out there, I'd like a little realistic input from some of the "older" (i.e. broken) guys. I have a lot of fitness experience, know how to "workout", martial arts guy, blah blah blah...

After 25 years in the Army, the readers digest version of my orthopedic medical VOLUME consists of surgical repair of 1 ankle, both knees, both shoulders (one twice) and 4 hand surgeries...along with a fracture in my elbow that I never had "fixed" so...well - you know, I have some aches and pains.

In any case...LAST deployment I saw guys doing the crossfit thing - my knees just wouldn't handle it. So I stuck with my weight training, did John Cena's program (yes the wrestler dude - and it was incredible with great strength results so screw you guys). At home I have a Bowflex and the Bowflex Dumbells with a gym quality elliptical. GREAT SYSTEM for me here...at the house.

I'll be going to A-Stan shortly and the newest "rage" (here at Bliss) is the P90X. I read the threads here regarding P90X...my bigger query is how it will affect major joints.

Crossfit is great and all - my joints just couldn't handle it. Taking a knee in full kit 100 times is a necessary evil. Isometric "body weight resistance kneeling" or repetitive both leg squats for PT is simply torture that affects me negatively on mission.

Open for input-

Eagle

Ain't no one getting out of this world alive. All you can do is try to have some choice in the way you go. Prepare yourself (and your affairs), and when your number is up, die on your feet fighting rather than on your knees. And make the SOBs pay dearly."
The Reaper-3 Sep 04
Eagle5US is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 19:04   #2
BigJimCalhoun
Guerrilla

We had P90X and sold it (another topic for another day)