Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > UWOA > Briefback

Old 07-03-2004, 22:03   #1
Bill Harsey
Bladesmith to the Quiet Professionals

History Help Needed, McNamara!

I graduated high school in 1973. This means I knew very little about what was happening in Vietnam because my only source of information was broadcast television. I just finished reading two great books by Major John Plaster about SOG that gave me a better background about the war, in the opening pages, than 10 years of television. You guys also know I have the world of respect for those who served in that country. This evening I watched a kind of documentary called "Fog of War" featuring Robert McNamara. I can't reconcile what he says compared to Major John Plaster. When in doubt I go with the man on the ground. Can anyone help me with Mr. McNamaras role in Vietnam? Thanks, Bill

Last edited by Bill Harsey; 07-03-2004 at 22:15.
Bill Harsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 22:37   #2
Bill Harsey

Any information would be both respected and appreciated, especially from the FOGs who served there. I'll take it off the record if that's easier.
Old 07-04-2004, 04:33   #3
BMT (RIP)
Quiet Professional

History Help Needed, McNamara!

Bill, Does the EDSEL atomobile ring a bell?? Mac believed everything could be done with numbers.
If you made 10 blades and none passed the test XXXX,if you made 10 blades and all passed the test XXXX.The man was hung up on percentages.

BMT
Jr. FOG
Old 07-04-2004, 07:18   #4
QRQ 30
Quiet Professional

IMO one of the dreaded micro-managers. He cuffed Westmoreland and the JCS. He would not allow them to operate as they knew how. A big factor in screwing up our polocy in RVN.

Pain and suffering are inevitable,
misery is optional.

http://tadahling.com/memoriesofaspecialforcessoldier/
QRQ 30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 07:31   #5
Bill Harsey

Re: History Help Needed, McNamara!

Quote:
Originally posted by BMT