Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Kit Tips > Professional Gear

Old 01-13-2008, 22:29   #1
Smokin Joe
Area Commander

TAD gear Ranger Hoodie v3.0 a review

TAD GEAR Ranger Hoodie v3.0

One week ago I picked one of these up via TAD gears web site. I have been eyeing this jacket for a little over 6 months now. I have read the reviews on military moron’s site, and lightfighter.net. I finally decided to pull the trigger on one.

Sizing/fit: This was always a question in my mind as I have read they run large. I’m 6 ft 185 lbs and have a 44 inch chest (without armor on). I bought this jacket to wear over concealable body armor and a uniform shirt. I settled on the large and if fits perfectly. It is form fitting (without giving you the saran wrap feel) and offers sufficient room for, drawing a pistol, shouldering a long gun, and performing H2H combat with out bunching up.

Material: The jacket is made out of Malden Mills windpro fleece. It does a good job of keeping the wind at bay and keeping me warm without bulk. Mind you this is not their “Shark Skin” jacket that is designed to cut the wind, it is fleece but it contains 4 times the wind stopping ability of normal fleece.

Features: The jacket has a pocket on each bicep with Velcro on the outside so you can attach your favorite moral patch (or in my case my agency patch). The pockets are big enough to hold a field notebook and pen or Field Interview cards. The left sleeve also has a forearm pocket that would be ideal for holding ID’s or business cards.

The torso pockets are up higher than you would normally find on a commercial jacket as they are on the chest area. They can also double as a torso vent as they open to huge internal mesh pockets. Also you will find internal d-rings for attaching gloves or to dummy cord your compass to.