Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces > Special Forces Questions

Old 12-09-2011, 16:46   #1
Rmack
Asset

From ROTC to SF

Hello All,

I'm currently a contracted cadet in Army ROTC, just looking for some suggestions in my situation. I am a sophomore and just finished my 3rd semester of college, I'm on full scholarship however every day I ask myself if it's all worth it.

I question whether this path will lead me to my dreams, to be SF.

I am in good standing as a cadet(3.4 GPA) and have no problems maxing a PT test, however I find that a majority of the kids in ROTC are just that, kids. It seems nobody takes things seriously.

Anyways, I wish to drop-out and try to pick up an 18x or something along the lines of that. Since I am contracted I have to pay back the money in full or repay with enlisted duty (if I payed in full I would enlist anyways). I'm just wondering how likely I am to even pick up an 18x. I don't want to end up getting an unwanted MOS. The only way I would take this risk is if I could be guaranteed the 18x, or even an option 40. Is it likely? I've been thinking about this for about a year now. Feel free to ask me any more questions about myself to get a better understanding as to where I'm at.

Thanks.
Rmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 17:34   #2
x SF med
Quiet Professional

A long time ago, in a universe far far away.... I ran out of cash to finish my degree - I was not contract, but I had gone to Advanced Camp, CTLT and BAC. I was also close to an early commission. I got discharged from the SMP program and ROTC, then enlisted with an SF contract (98 hrs of college, good ASVAB scores, and able to max the 5 event PT Test helped the recruiter hit every quota) ... I awas not the only guy in my Infantry Basic in the same boat, one guy actually had both ABN and AAslt.

It can be done.

Hearing, I forget. Seeing, I remember. Writing (doing), I understand. Chinese Proverb