Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > The Pipeline (Special Forces Training) > 18E

Old 10-11-2011, 18:19   #1
Quietus
Asset

Looking for advice on British PT-320 radio

I am a newbie FCC licensed General class amateur. Am interested in radio, as a more reliable option to phones and email. I am at the bottom of the learning curve, learning to make FE antennas for my HT Wouxon. I am studying USMC manuals on signal propagation and the making of antennas, for when I buy an HF radio and start to learn about making antennas for it.

I want to buy a portable HF radio. My homework so far has shown the Icom 7200 as maybe best option for modern radios for my needs. Then I came across the British Clansman 320 radio. It is old school and heavy at 23 pounds or so. The get of this radio for me, is that it comes soup-to-nuts: CW key; headphones; 2.5m vertical whip; a long feedline; two wire reels for antenna; a counterpoise reel of wire; antenna switch; balons, and other things. It is a 30w radio, goes down to 5w. It runs on 24v.

I don't know code yet, but will learn it the best I am able, the learning of it is on the old age bucket list. My wants for range, are not real much. Maybe a couple hundred miles with the right FE antenna. I want to learn more about NVIS, that's about the use I intend. The radio's 30w capability for DX is of lesser importance for me, but is something I will want to learn. I will not be buying any home antennas, just want to learn how to put out the correct amount of wire in the right way... on my place, I can probably run wire on the fence posts of existing fence lines. Lose a lot in theory, gain in practicality, and maybe learn how I screwed up while trying such.

My wants in an HF radio are about 90/10 for a decent field radio v a home amateur radio. Use, would be dragged out of a USA 12v truck on USFS lands or packed on a horse. It would be nice if a USA truck could support a 24v battery, but I have not studied that yet.