Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > The Pipeline (Special Forces Training) > 18E

Old 03-15-2011, 01:16   #1
allester666
SF Candidate

Deployment ICOM radio project

I have been tasked with setting up an ICOM radio system where I am currently deployed. I have some components, but not all of them.

I have 4 IC-FR3000 repeaters. They came with duplexers, but no instructions on how to use them. The duplexer is labeled with a TX value: 150,000, RX: 155,000. there are 3 n style connectors on the duplexers which are labeled low pass, antenna, and high pass. the back of the duplexer has 6 screws on it to connect wires to.

Question 1) How do I set up this duplexer effectively? I have no knowledge in this area, and having little luck with general internet research.

The repeaters did not come with antennas. The instructions for the unit say that the unit uses a 50 ohm antenna...real specific haha. Will an antenna (such as a jungle) using 50 ohm wire for the transmission line fulfill that need? For now, the radios need to cover about 5 square km, maybe further (40 km) in the future. I think an omni-directional antenna would work well here, initially for testing I will be using jungle antennas.

Question 2) What makes a jungle antenna a 50 ohm antenna? I read on electronics tutorials.com that the 45 degree down angle creates an artificial ground leading to an impedence of 50 ohms...but I don't understand how that works!

Question 3) Does anyone know what the corresponding default frequencies from the factory on a 16 channel ICOM F11 model are? No luck on researching that one so far. The radios did not come with programming cables/software, so I have to order those. The only thing I can think to do for now is plug in frequencies to an MBITR to see if i can talk to the icom.

Thanks to anyone who can help!
Old 03-16-2011, 11:33   #2
no-hertz
Quiet Professional