Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > TMC 14 > Medical Pearls Of Wisdom

Old 05-28-2008, 16:34   #1
SF_BHT
Quiet Professional

Lightbulb Water Purification help in the Amazon

Situation: Nurse working in a remote village in the Amazon Jungle.
This village does not have a well and they collect rain water to drink and to take a bath in. The village only has electricity for 4 hours each day.

I have a lot of knowledge of individual prep for my drinking water for Opns but I need help with recommendations on how I can help 2 nurses to have safe drinking water for the next year of their job in the jungle. The only source is a running brown river at the edge of the village no wells.

My dilemma is what is the best cost effective way to prepare drinking water for 2 Nurses working in a remote Jungle Village. It takes 2+ days by boat to get there and the final leg is bu small boat. Individual pumps like I use are not practical or cost effective. Lister bags are great to store water after it is made drinkable but I need a workable process (SF Field-craft type) that will give them a workable cheap way to obtain drinking water for them at their clinic.

I have a 50 gallon Plastic drum with a water tap and sealed lid for them to hold their water on site as they use clorox and strain out debriet........

I need some good old 18D and 18C help with this solution. Their clinic will benefit from this solution.

I am willing to put a system together for them and transportation if I can find a good way with local items and add on filters shipped from the US via APO.

PS: The Nurses are Locals and yes they are Hot I have known them for 3 years and they have to do 1 year before they are certified by the national health system. I already gave them a Tazer so some drunk Indian does not assault them. A lot of girls that do their 1 year in remote areas get raped and the government does not seam to care.

Thanks Bryan
SF_BHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 17:32   #2
Team Sergeant