Old 06-27-2012, 15:35   #1
ironstoNe
Quiet Professional

A little case study

Now I am only an 18D student still, but I just wanted to share this with the current 18D's and those who have experience with the medical field. A friend of mine was telling me she has just noticed within the past 2 months that her blood pressure spikes to 180+ / 90+ at random times of the day. She is 38, maybe 100lbs, and in great shape (she runs between 6 - 12 miles quite often) There is no consistency to the rise in BP and she says that her labs, MRI, CT Scan, Renal Ultrasound, and Cardiogram are all normal. The docs said her renal artery seems intact as well. She does feel winded when this seems to happen and she feels quite a bit of pressure behind her eye and it's consistent. She is going back to the doctor Thursday for a possible angiogram, but that is about it. The docs can't find anything wrong with her other than low potassium levels, and are probably going to refer her to an endocrinologist. So I was just wondering if anyone on here may have the slightest clue as to what it could be from. I'm still thinking it out myself, but it seems to be a pretty interesting case. I would appreciate your feedback.

Thanks alot,

Nick (18D student)
Old 06-27-2012, 15:54   #2
Sdiver
Area Commander

Nick,

Was wondering if your friend has any history of HTN in her family, especially on her mother's side? I ask because my HTN was diagnosed when I turned 43, and I apparently get it from my mother. Both my mother and her mother (my grandmother) were diagnosed with HTN when they were 40.

You stated that your friend was 38, so this could be a precursor to hypertension, if it indeed runs in her family.
Sdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 16:48   #3
PedOncoDoc
Area Commander

Could be early hypertension, but those numbers are quite high and are concerning.

Why is she having her blood pressure taken several times throughout the day, and how are the blood pressures being measured?