Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > At Ease > The Soapbox

Old 10-31-2018, 14:26   #1
Old Dog New Trick
Quiet Professional

If Words Matter...(US Constitution) then Let’s Argue!

President Trump as others before him (namely Harry Reid) want to redefine a sentence in the 14th Amendment to eliminate citizenship simply because the baby popped out on US soil or a territory under the control of The United States of America.

Those words being: ‘All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and the State wherein they reside.

Subject to the jurisdiction thereof,

What does that exactly mean? I’m not a lawyer nor a judge and certainly not a Supreme Court Justice but, all those kinds and types of people before me sure have a lot to say about this sentence...

the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Seems to me there have been an awful lot of interpretations and judicial opinions on exactly who the people are, and what infringement means.

I’ll argue that in order for a child to become a US citizen at birth then at least one or both of the parents have to be a US citizen and/or a naturalized citizen, green card holder, or otherwise legally allowed to be in the United States awaiting jurisdictional judgement (asylum) by a federal or state court. Absent any of the above and or in violation of any laws or unlawful occupation of the United States or Territories thereof your offspring are citizens of the country of the mother at time of birth and both will be subject to immediate deportation after release or discharge from the hospital or place of birth.

The United States “shall not issue a birth certificate declaring citizenship or grant other benefits (SSN) or Medicaid to anyone not showing proof of citizenship.”