Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > At Ease > General Discussions

Old 01-04-2018, 06:18   #1
AbleArcher
Asset

Gift ideas for newly commissioned officer

My nephew will shortly be receiving his commission into the Irish Defence Forces.

I'd like to commemorate this with a special kind of gift that he'll hold on to for years, or possibly generations.

As an engineer, I'd like to incorporate some element of personalization- either through custom fabrication, or modification (e.g. engraving) of an existing piece.

What are some of the better gift ideas that you've heard of? What is something that a 20yr old butterbar might hold onto and find inspirational / useful over the course of his career?
AbleArcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 06:47   #2
Pete
Quiet Professional

One pip

One pip, eh?

Assigned a unit yet? Branch? Regiment?

Useful or something to hang on the wall?

Is there something peculiar to the IDF that officers use?
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:07   #3
AbleArcher
Asset

It's confirmed that he's going infantry, but I don't think he gets his ultimate unit assignment until he finishes his university degree (The Irish do things a little back to front).

I'd prefer something useful, but I'm open to all good ideas.

As for things that are peculiar to the IDF- officers in class A's have the option of wearing swords. His parents are getting that for him.

As for other notable differences, I'm not sure. All of my (limited) military experience was with the US Army (many moons ago).

Last edited by AbleArcher; 01-04-2018 at 07:12.
Old 01-04-2018, 09:20   #4
twistedsquid
Guerrilla

Infantry Officer's Watch, Automatic. Look at Victorinox. Swiss made with the venerable ETA 2824-2 movement.

"The wicked flee even when none pursueth". Proverbs 28:1
twistedsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 12:09   #5
frostfire
Area Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbleArcher View Post