Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces Weapons > Edged Weapons

Old 11-21-2015, 09:31   #1
miclo18d
Quiet Professional

Kitchen Knife Set White Paper

I am not a knife expert by any means, I carry a small mass produced, Gerber auto assist folder that mostly sees box opening duties and jokes from the boss about the fact that it could only be used to bludgeon someone to death. With that I also have 2 Wüstof Grand Prix II chefs knives that I am fond of and use them for all my kitchen duties except for a pairing knife.

HH6 and I consider ourselves good cooks and love learning about gourmet cooking. We were discussing the fact that a good quality chef's knife is an essential part of Mise en place. She directed me to knives by Bob Kramer and we went on his website and saw some amazing knives! The problem is that Bob Kramer and others that build knives for the "Rock Star" chefs, cost thousands and thousands of dollars each! At that point you are really paying for a name.

"Then it hit me, like a diamond bullet, right between the eyes..." We have some knife makers on this site that cater to Special forces that could probably make same or better quality than these.

My proposal is for a Special Forces Chef's Knife set. For me an excellent blade with some sort of Special Forces crest or the Nous Defions symbol on the blade

Not knowing anything about knives and steel I have no idea how much they would cost but I'd be pretty darned sure I would pay $1000 for something like that!

I would love to hear others thoughts on this and I hope that TS will ring in, as a chef, and add some thoughts to this as well. Also Bill and DJ as knife makers, give their input. (I did see that Bill has a Carving set on his site already)