Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > Special Forces Weapons > Ammo Talk

Old 11-22-2008, 13:26   #1
KENCITO18D794
Quiet Professional

Military Primer Crimp Removal

I am new to reloading. I have about 1,000 rounds of .223 brass ( mostly Lake City ) imagine that. They are any where between 20 years old and new, so my intention was to decap it all, polish it, and reload it.

Got it decapped with no problems. I have an RCBS Case Master. My question is how long should it take to remove the miliatry primer crimp using the Case Master.

It seems I am grinding quite a bit on some of them.
KENCITO18D794 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 14:13   #2
HOLLiS
Area Commander

About as long as it does to decap them or prime them using a single stage press. Dillion makes a really good pocket swegger. The RCBS one works ok, all-in-all it is not a big job. Just be sure of your set up.

Also get a case gauge and check the case length, Having a uniform length is important.

Note: not all once fired brass is, "Once fired". It is good to inspect any brass that you add to your collection the first time. Also to track your brass as to how many times it has been used, at a minimum.

Last edited by HOLLiS; 11-23-2008 at 10:47.
HOLLiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 14:26   #3
KENCITO18D794
Quiet Professional

Hollis,

What do you mean "set up"?
KENCITO18D794 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 17:03   #4
HOLLiS
Area Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by KENCITO18D794 View Post
Hollis,

What do you mean "set up"?
Like any die, it has to be set up to the stroke of your piston. With the RCBS pocket swegge(sp?), one could set it too light or too hard. There are two parts the anvil and the swegger which mounts to the ram, like your shell holder. The Ram can deform the case at the primer vet if set too tight. The force that is needed is just enough to reform the primer pocket, removing the old crimp. I think lighter would be preferred to harder.