Go Back   Professional Soldiers ® > TMC 14 > General Medical

Old 05-01-2018, 11:35   #1
rr123
Asset

Disqualified for "taking Dramamine in the last 3 years."

Hello Gentlemen,

I have been training for almost two years now to get ready for selection. I have been working with a recruiter with the 19th SFG in Utah to to get all the proper paper work done. I have ran into a couple of road blocks with ACL reconstruction surgery back in 2012, but I got that all cleared with the proper medical records before even going to MEPS. This last week I have made the steps to enlist with a REP-63 contract. They flew me out from California (where I live) to Utah for two days to do my ASVAB, OPAT, MEPS Physical, and swear in. I made it through everything including getting my ACL surgery checked off and cleared. However, I was disqualified for taking half a dose of Dramamine (over-the-counter medication for motion sickness) 48 hours within going into MEPS.

I do not get recurring motion sickness at all (I surf, kayak, and travel a lot on planes). I took this medication after my flight into Utah because I was slightly light headed in this instance and I wanted to prepare for my ASVAB the next morning without any distractions. I scored well on my ASVAB, however, the next day before doing the urine test I was asked to put down any medication taken in the last 48 hours. I put down Dramamine.

My doctor saw that I had taken Dramamine and said that I am disqualified. Not because I get recurring motion sickness, but because the rules say (and he showed me them) that “I am not allowed to join if I took any medication for motion sickness in the last 3 years.” The doctor saw this as an unfortunate coincidence and recommended me for waiver.