PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on shooting gremlin

dr. mabuse
12-02-2005, 19:14
I'm new to this type of rifle set-up and observed something strange today.

Put together a Bushmaster lower w/~3# trigger, A3 upper with 24" bull barrel, 1/8 twist, floated fore-end, Harris bipod and Leupold Mark IV on top.

I shot small 3 shot groups and reloaded after each group but each group was floating around within a ~ 3 1/2" diameter.

I folded up the bipod and shot off a ruck and then got consistent 1/2" or less groups without the groups wandering around.

Used the bipod and the problem returned.

I don't have to use the bipod but is there a way to cure this with a bipod attached?

Never saw this before with a bolt gun or a shorter AR.

Thanks

Smokin Joe
12-02-2005, 19:54
I believe it is a harmonics issue.

But I'm no expert in the field.

Doc
12-02-2005, 20:07
I'm thinking the same thing as smokin joe and I too know little about this type of issue.

Sounds like your barrel doesn't like the bipod.

I could be wrong. Wouldn't be the first time.

Doc

Team Sergeant
12-02-2005, 20:45
Doc and Joe are all over it.

Lose the bi-pods. They were designed for machine guns, not for precision shooting, not unless they are attached to a free floating stock. Even then they should be specialized bi-pods, make to take shock away from the weapon.

The internal ballistics can be affected if the rifle is fired while in contact with a "hard" surface (frozen ground, wood, rock, road, building, window ledge, table top, truck bed etc.). Contact coming from the surface, transmitted to the bi-pods, transmitted to the barrel, before the bullet has left the barrel, you get the picture.

Could also be you changed your body position when shooting off the ruck. Could be due to a number of reasons, stock weld/spot weld might also have changed when you went from a bi-pod position to a ruck position.