View Full Version : gettin there; terrorist killed in Id

frostfire
11-28-2005, 23:37
didn't find this in Airbornelawyer daily intsum

here goes:
(copy and paste)pbs.org/newshour/bb/terrorism/july-dec05/indo_11-9.html

TERRORIST KILLED IN INDONESIA

November 9, 2005

A police shoot-out in Indonesia Wednesday killed one of Southeast Asia's most hunted terrorists, Azhari bin Husin. Following a background report, an expert discusses the significance of the killing.

frostfire
12-05-2005, 23:39
The Jakarta Post, November 5, 2005

Poverty not the cause of terrorism
Noor Huda Ismail, Jakarta

I know the Jamaah Islamiyah (JI) only too well. I was a student of the Ngruki religious school in Surakarta (Solo) for six years from 1985. My roommate was involved in the first attack on Bali. Another schoolmate became a suicide bomber. But only a small number of graduates became "jihadists".

The school has been linked to the JI because both share the same founder -- Sungkar.

One of the perpetrators of the first Bali attack -- Mubarok, alias Fadlullah Hasan -- was my former roommate in Ngruki School. His wife and children told me what a loving husband and warm father he was.

The suicide bomber in the Marriott bombing of August 2003 was Asmar Latin Sani, also from my school. All his former classmates describe him as a smart, polite and good-hearted young man. Journalists who cover terrorism stories would agree with me that in the main friends, families and neighbors of terrorists are shocked and surprised to find out that they had been mingling with "terrorists".

But I learned that most people who turn to terrorism are searching for answers to the meaning of life.

When the first attack in Bali happened in October 2002, I was there to cover it for the Washington Post, and since then I have talked to many jihadists both inside and outside the jail, in additional to visiting abandoned jungle training camps on Seram Island in Maluku and reading classified jihadist documents.