PDA

View Full Version : Major Joe Haydon

ObliqueApproach
11-26-2005, 08:19
Gentlemen,

As I am new to PS, I have been cathcing up on old posts and didn't review TAPS until today. While reading through TAPS, I didn't notice Major Joe Haydon mentioned so I thought let everyone know. Major Joe Haydon was on the Air Nigeria flight from Lagos to Abuja last month which crashed killing everyone on board. Joe, a Citadel Graduate, was the team leader of 581 back in the 1993-94 time frame. He later left the service and joined me on the United Arab Emirates SF Team as my Training Development Officer. He did three years here then returned to the US and went back into the Army. (SF was/is so short of 18As that he returned as if he never left.) He was a FAO in Nigeria.

The following is a copy of the email I sent out followed by Ranger Roach's email. Colonel Roach, as always, is very profound and leaves you thoughts to contemplate.

De Oppresso Liber

To all the old UAE SF guys and all other stations,

Joe Haydon was aboard the Air Nigeria flight which crashed last week. The US DAO in Nigeria has been to the crash site and confirmed all passengers died.
His wife and the kids have been notified. I thought you all might want to know.

Scott

Scott

Thanks for the message... a sad message, but it is good to hear from you...

I talked to Joe's father yesterday - and their family (parents brother and
sister) are all together at Fredericksburg and supporting one another...
they are very sad, but dealing as well as you can with a death in the family. I'm sure that any calls or cards would be very much appreciated...
they're very good people.

Joe's father told me that the Army is taking good care of them, and that the Embassy in Nigeria is taking good care of his family. One of the big questions will be where will his wife decide to go... she has her US citizenship, but her family is in Spain... too early to have any indication yet...