PDA

View Full Version : Payne, Norman

The Reaper
03-03-2004, 20:06
It is my honor to post the story of Norman Payne.

He was born on my birthday, and lost 11 years to the day before I entered service of my country.

I continuously wore his name on a metal band on my right wrist from the day I graduated from the SFQC, till 1999 when it broke and I retired it.

His actions speak more of his sacrifice than I ever could.

RIP, MSG Payne. You are not forgotten.

PAYNE, NORMAN
Name: Norman Payne
Rank/Branch: Master Sergeant/US Army
Unit: Military Assistance Command Vietnam
Studies and Observation Group
Command & Control North,
Forward Operating Base 1
5th Special Forces Group,
1st Special Forces

Date of Birth: 14 July 1939 (Greenville, AL)
Home of Record: Cleveland, OH
Date of Loss: 19 December 1968
Country of Loss: Laos
Loss Coordinates: 162130N 1065030E (XD978095)

Status in 1973: Missing In Action
Category: 2
Aircraft/Vehicle/Ground: Ground
Other Personnel in Incident: (none missing)

REMARKS:

SYNOPSIS: MACV-SOG, or Military Assistance Command Vietnam Studies and Observation Group, was a joint service high command unconventional warfare task force engaged in highly classified operations throughout Southeast Asia. The 5th Special Forces channeled personnel into MACV-SOG (though it was not a Special Forces group) through Special Operations Augmentation (SOA), which provided their "cover" while under secret orders to MACV-SOG. These teams performed deep penetration missions of strategic reconnaissance and interdiction which were called, depending on the time frame, "Shining Brass" or "Prairie Fire" missions.