PDA

View Full Version : Kurdistan

NousDefionsDoc
03-01-2004, 11:24
Should the Kurds have their own state? Why or why not?

Roguish Lawyer
03-01-2004, 11:34
I am no expert and may change my mind after reading what others have to say, but I will get this thread going.

I never really followed the situation in the former Yugoslavia, so I am not apprised of the general difficulties associated with attempts to draw political borders based on ethnic lines. That being said, my instinct is "yes." It seems to me that they have a de facto state now anyway, and in the long term there may be less upheaval in the area if the Kurds can govern themselves. Plus they're our friends, or they seem to be anyway.

That being said, I don't know how practical it would be given where the oil is, among other things. I'm looking forward to what others have to say, particularly Airborne Lawyer and those who have spent time in or focused on Iraq.

DunbarFC
03-01-2004, 11:40
Are we talking with full support of Turkey, the Kurds delcaring a unilateral independence ?

To me without Turkish support you'll never see a Kurdistan

NousDefionsDoc
03-01-2004, 11:48
We're talking about improving the situation in Iraq and sticking it to Iran and Syria at the same time. We're talking about Israel not being the only "pro-US" country in the region anymore (extent is debatable). We're talking about having a watchdog next door to Iraq/Iran in whose best interest it would be to advise us of pending disaster before it happens. We're talking about making good on old promises. We're talking about KURDISTAN! LOL. If we put US troops there, do you really think the Turks will attack?

Did/do the Turks support independence in Greece? Cyrpus?

I haven't been, so my ideas mean nothing, but I'm not sure Iraq is governable without a dictator as is.

Smokin Joe
03-01-2004, 11:48