PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Memorial Day 2005

Trip_Wire (RIP)
05-29-2005, 12:18
This was sent to me by a good friend a Vietnam Vet & AF Commando:

To Brothers: Some Thoughts on Memorial Day

It happens every year, without fail, as it has for now more than thirty years: Memorial Day arrives in my brain with a glance at the calendar, or with a television news reminder. An early morning ceremony will be held at a National Cemetery, a parade will wind through town to City Hall, a festival will be held at a city park.

I almost always think to myself, “I should make the effort, get up and get my family and attend one of these ceremonies. After all, I am a military veteran, a military veteran of war, no less.

I’ve thought about dusting off my old dress uniform – except they don’t quite fit any longer, something about the shoulders, the waist and the sleeves that must have severely shrunk in all those years of hanging quietly in the closet.

But I never have done those things I’ve thought of doing, of actually attending a Memorial Day observance. Instead, my mind silently plays back the memories, like a movie screen; the days of my own military service, and of friends, both dead and alive, those well-adjusted and those still crazy – after all these years.

I remember sitting on a hotel roof-top in a far-away and exotic land, sometime long after mid-night. Just a few of us, boy-men who knew each other better than our mothers or fathers or brothers or sisters or girlfriends knew us. We sat, dangling our feet over the rooftop edge, bottles of warm, nearly tasteless beer in hand, laughing over silly and frighteningly serious things, watching the eerie lights of distant firefights and the strange, far-away echo of big guns, booming in the night.