PDA

View Full Version : Languages are hard for me… but I am working on it…

JPH
05-08-2005, 19:52
For those that don’t know, I am a college student, looking to enlist 18x, with the gold of becoming an 18B, after I graduate.

Early in my life I was diagnosed with a LD in Reading Language Arts. This can mean many things but in my case it means that I have a very hard time spelling, I spell very phonetically. (which is great for Spanish)

The public school system was and is useless for me. They had a lot more kids with a lot worse problems than mine to deal with. On top of that I also tested gifted, manly for my problem solving abilities, so they had no idea what to do with me. So my school weeks as a kid involved 4-6 hours a week in a LD resource room (where all the retarded kids go, for all those who don’t know what this is, and I use the term ‘retarded kids’ because that was what other cruel kids called it and most likely what those who aren’t in the know will remember it as), and then once a week I wasn’t in my home school (meaning my normal elementary or middle school) because I was across town at the gifted school.

I learned to over come my disability. I am a 3.0 student (in college) most semesters, I hold three jobs, and work hard. I am resourceful, in that I use my environment to help over come my difficulty spelling. I have never thought that I shouldn’t be required to take the same test as other students or have more time on papers, although sometime in elementary school they thought I couldn’t think for myself and made me take test in different environments and so on.