PDA

View Full Version : Maryland vs Virginia Rep-63 Training

amatlis
04-03-2005, 16:04
Hello, I am getting ready to volunteer (turned 30 and realized I've waited too long to do what I really want to do).

I live and work in Arlington, VA so I'm about equidistant from the Glen Armor, Maryland unit (B Co. 2nd Bn/ 20th) and the Bowling Green, Va unit (B Co. 3rd Bn/ 20th). I'm also a Chicago native, so flying back to Chicago (A Co. 2nd Bn/ 20th) once a month is no problem (a pleasure actually).

I'm fluent in French and Spanish and want to go 18 Echo. I am an eletrical engineer.

Can anybody recommend one unit over the other in terms of training preparation and general unit activity?

I had a bad experience with the current Maryland recruiter (who is not SF). He knew absolutely nothing and I ended up having to explain to him how the SF pipeline works. He was convinced he could send me directly as an officer with an 18A.

Thanks in advance,
Anthony

jatx
04-03-2005, 16:31
I believe that B/3/20th has moved to North Carolina. Also, the recruiter for A/2/20th has posted here within the last week or so, you might look for his post. Good luck!

Dustin03
04-03-2005, 20:08
Any of them, the 20th GRP rocks. Im with C Co in MS, and it is jsut a great bunch of guys.

Surgicalcric
04-03-2005, 22:48
jatx is correct. Bco 3/20th has moved from Bowling Green, Va to Roanoke Rapids, NC.

If you need contact info let me know.

Crip

amatlis
04-03-2005, 22:51
I think NC is a little too far for me by car. I would still fly to Chicago. I contacted the Chicago recruiter.

Thanks guys!

The Reaper
04-04-2005, 08:02
I think NC is a little too far for me by car. I would still fly to Chicago. I contacted the Chicago recruiter.

Thanks guys!

RR, NC is about 15 minutes south of the VA border just off I-95.

Very accessible from Eastern VA, probably about 3-4 hours from you.

Your call, though.

TR

Surgicalcric
04-04-2005, 08:33
The POC number for Bco 3/20th SFG(A) in Roanoke Rapids, NC is: