PDA

View Full Version : I need help - .45 info

Sire24657
02-02-2005, 08:42
I need assistance. a friend of mine is overseas and needs some mags for a 1911-series pistol. I want to get him some decent ones. As I am pretty unfamiliar with them (I am very happy with my CZ-85, thanks), I was wondering what mags I should look at. I have heard that Wilson Combat and Chip McCormick makes some good ones, but I am not sure.

Please email me at stuclark@hotmail.com ASAP, Subject MAGS.

Thanks,

Sire24657

QRQ 30
02-02-2005, 09:18
I'm no weapons expert. However, I was going to ask what makes one magazine superior to another. I have probably answered my own question. I would think it would be the durability and resistance to corrosion of the material and the dependability of the spring. I would feel that any reputable mag made for the weapon would be good. Price just may be a factor.

I feel that maintenance may be more of a factor. For some reason people clean and maintain their weapons but totally neglect the magazine and ammunition.

Sacamuelas
02-02-2005, 09:51
STU-
I have had very good experiences with Wilson combat 8 rd mags and have never heard anything negative concerning them. However, Do NOT buy them direct from wilson if you want a better deal. They are cheaper if you buy them online somewhere else. You can usually find them for around $20-25 /piece. They are pricey for mags, but the gun will not go bang without a functioning and reliable mag. :D

mumbleypeg
02-02-2005, 10:15
I switched from Mec-Gars a year ago to CMC 8rd power mags. I've been very happy with their flawless performance. I found good prices here (http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/ctd/product.asp?dept%5Fid=122014&sku=31061&imgid=&mscssid=AF943NBE36G78NNQDKJX84RG0LJ46TA3)

Endorphin Rush
02-02-2005, 11:47