PDA

View Full Version : Regarding age, skills, and REP 63

Lactose
09-30-2016, 21:28
Greetings Gentlemen,

I am a 31 years old student currently working on my MS degree, interested in computer engineering. I have always wanted to serve my country that has provided to me so many opportunities, for which I am very grateful. In my opinion, I could not think of a better way to usefully apply my language skills in the US military other than to have the honor and privilege to join the ranks of the United States Army Special Forces in the future.

I have done my research as best as I could, however I will appreciate some clarification on the following:

*Regarding age, I have read on these forums that if your age requires a waiver, you have no place in the SF community unless you have a set of skills that you can offer for the team. I am proficient in four languages, which are: Pashto, Dari, English, and Urdu. Realistically, will I have a solid chance for a REP 63 contract for a position in the National Guard??

*For a non-prior service applicant, the age limit is 35. If/when I decide to pursue this path, is it best to wait and finish my MS degree and then apply before I reach 35?

*This is a question beyond '25 meters target', but I believe it is worth asking; as a candidate who is proficient in several languages, are you still obligated to go through the language phase?

Thank you for your time,

Lactose

SF-TX
10-01-2016, 07:34
The older you get, the more difficult the path.

TrapperFrank
10-02-2016, 09:34
There is a short window of opportunity to be an asset on a team. If this is what you want to do and are serious about it, either defecate or get off the pot.

Lactose
10-03-2016, 20:34
SF-TX:

I will keep that in mind. Thank you for your comment.

TrapperFrank:

Understood, thank you. It is just that I already started my MS degree program, and I think it is a tough decision to leave the program unfinished.

Astronomy
10-04-2016, 21:18