PDA

View Full Version : Suppressor advice wanted

Brush Okie
08-18-2016, 21:39
Looking into a suppressor for a 22. It will go on a Ruger mkii pistol and a bolt action 22 rifle.

I have a 308 that is threaded it would be nice to get one that can do double duty but primary would be the 22 pistol would be used the most so small and light are important sine I plan on taking it on hikes

Any advice appreciated since I have very little experience with them thanks

The Reaper
08-19-2016, 07:42
I can highly recommend the Silencerco Sparrow 2.

Inexpensive, well-made, very light, has the novel ability to be disassembled for cleaning. Most .22 cans weld themselves together with powder and lead crud and get pretty buggered up trying to disassemble them. If you look at some used ones, you will probably see a lot of external damage to them from attempts to disassemble the units for cleaning. The Sparrow design prevents that problem.

Works fine on a Ruger .22/45 and a 10/22. Both can be had in threaded versions that allow quick installation and removal, without the services of a gunsmith.

A .30 can suppressor will be way heavy and bulky on a .22 pistol or even a .22 rifle.

Best of luck.

TR

JJ_BPK
08-19-2016, 14:29
I have an AAC Element 2, that I use on my 10/45, 10/22, & PPK/s. As with the Sparrow, it's light and small,, and almost as easy to clean.

I was going to purchase the Sparrow, but the dealer gave me a sale price on the Element. Quality and sound wise they go toe-2-toe..

At 5.24" x 1" and 4.1 oz you hardly notice the can on the weapon..

I concur with TR, you will not find a 30cal or even a .223/5.56 can that is compatible with a 22cal platform. They are to big & bulky and weight 3-4 times as much.

MK262MOD1
08-19-2016, 14:55
I have a Gemtech Alpine II.

I enjoy integral .22 suppressors more but, honestly these days any of the removable .22 suppressors from a major manufacture will be great.

35NCO
08-19-2016, 20:55