PDA

View Full Version : What if I'm your teammate?

spaike97
06-28-2016, 02:09
Greetings,

I'm an international student from China and is going to join the Army and than volunteer for SF at some point(since I'm not going to be eligible for 18X)

My question is, what would you think about me, if I become the guy next to you?

I'm actually kinda afraid of asking this question but I have to face it if I'm ever going to join the military, and if I'm someone who would be afraid of facing an answer, SF is not going to take me.

I love this country just like someone who is born here. However I assume that probably 99% of people in the SF are born in the States and I just don't know what to expect if I can make the cut through SFAS and Q course.

I do understand that I need to focus on 25M targets and there are tons of other issues I need to face at this moment, I just can't put this question away.

Dive08
06-28-2016, 03:35
I am friends with a team guy who was born in China. As with many things, if you're a good teammate, no one will care.

You will have to get used to the '间谍' jokes though.

miclo18d
06-28-2016, 05:00
In the beginning, SF was made up with many Eastern European immigrants that escaped the Iron Curtain. As long as you want to be a free American and help others to achieve that same freedom, then you would be an excellent fit in SF.

My question is are you on a student visa or an immigrant visa?

Old Dog New Trick
06-28-2016, 06:36
A third of my Team was either from Southeast Asia or the South Pacific. In fact the whole Company was that way. Foreign immigrants from Asia, South/Central America, Europe both East and West and Africa make up (made up in my time) a true International culture in Special Forces.

English is often a second language to many who proudly serve as an American Green Beret.

In 1st Group "First in Asia" you'd fit right in.

Good luck with your decision, it's an important one.

Blueboy
06-28-2016, 06:50