PDA

View Full Version : AP 30-06 bullet in a .300 win mag case?


Bladeenthusiast
01-14-2015, 08:54
Hey guys, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions or input on this. My dad has been reloading forever and I occasionally help out. I got a thought the other day if you could put some 30-06 bullets in .300 win mag cases. I googled it and came up with this.
http://www.ar15.com/archive/topic.html?b=6&f=42&t=372976

Which helped a little but not a lot. So I was wondering what you guys thought. Or any suggestions you guys had. I already have reload able brass for the .300.

Bladeenthusiast
01-14-2015, 09:06
Why are you wanting to load with another type of bullet?

Are you needing a different trajectory? If that's the case, wouldn't it be easier to learn the ballistics or invest in a range finder?

Good question. The reason I want to do this is because a 30-06 is the closest bullet ballistically that has a AP round, and my dad has some lying around. I personally have never seen a .300 win mag AP.

The Reaper
01-14-2015, 10:31
What are you trying to penetrate?

TR

Bladeenthusiast
01-14-2015, 10:41
What are you trying to penetrate?

TR

A 3/4 inch ar500 plate at 250 yards, And have a little steam left.

The Reaper
01-14-2015, 11:35
A 3/4 inch ar500 plate at 250 yards, And have some steam left.

Not going to happen, IMHO.

TR

Peregrino
01-14-2015, 11:35
Hmmm. You might want to take this question back to AR15.com where you came from; however, to get you started - anything is at least remotely possible. If you know what you're doing and use proper proceedures, it is possible to do what you're asking. That isn't saying I think it's a good idea. Given that the barrel blank used to build my 300WM cost $500 (and that was the REALLY good buddy price) and I expect to have to replace it at around 1500 rounds, I doubt seriously that you could convince me to shoot AP ammo in it. And I'm pretty sure anyone else with a quality rifle will tell you the same thing.

Bladeenthusiast
01-14-2015, 13:57
Hmmm. You might want to take this question back to AR15.com where you came from; however, to get you started - anything is at least remotely possible. If you know what you're doing and use proper proceedures, it is possible to do what you're asking. That isn't saying I think it's a good idea. Given that the barrel blank used to build my 300WM cost $500 (and that was the REALLY good buddy price) and I expect to have to replace it at around 1500 rounds, I doubt seriously that you could convince me to shoot AP ammo in it. And I'm pretty sure anyone else with a quality rifle will tell you the same thing.

I didn't come from ar15.com, but that sounds like one nice ass gun your referring too. And I'll take your advice and head back there again maybe more people might see it if I post it again. Thanks

The Reaper
01-14-2015, 16:27
A .30-06 M2 AP round will not penetrate 1/2" of AR500 armor at 100 meters.

Honestly, I don't see how adding a couple of hundred fps are going to magically make it able to defeat 50% more armor at more than twice the distance.

Good luck though.

TR

Peregrino
01-14-2015, 19:07
True - Steel rifle targets are 1/2" AR500 and minimum safe distance for shooting at them is 100M. I am kind of curious what it would take myself; however, as stated earlier I'm not about to ruin a perfectly good barrel to find out.

Bladeenthusiast
01-14-2015, 19:54
True - Steel rifle targets are 1/2" AR500 and minimum safe distance for shooting at them is 100M. I am kind of curious what it would take myself; however, as stated earlier I'm not about to ruin a perfectly good barrel to find out.

Well sir I'll PM you when I find out, thanks for the luck ill need it. I'll probably get the end result by late spring.