PDA

View Full Version : Piston driven SBR

therunningwolf
11-03-2014, 00:02
I am currently in the planning stages of building a Piston SBR. My planned barrel length is going to be either a 10.5 or a 11.5 with a 9 inch BCM KMR rail. This rifle will be run primarily with a suppressor, and be used for police work (high risk warrants/ active shooter) with small buildings with tight corridors, and meth labs being common in my AO. For reference I have very little experience with piston systems as well as SBRs, I currently have a BCM EAG Carbine. It is my first and currently only AR, it has served my usage perfectly to this point and I consider it the standard to strive for when building this new rifle. Through reading I have heard repeatedly that DI rifles get less reliable the shorter the barrel and that a piston system will fix this as well as make running a suppressor much more comfortable, alleviating the "Getting spit in the face" issue.

My questions for the members here are:

What are your experiences with a piston system SBR (10.5 or 11.5 inch barrel)? Is there any noticeable differences between running one suppressed and un-suppressed?

I have only been able to find Adams Arms piston kits, places like PWS and LWRC don't appear to sale them anymore, rather they sale uppers or full rifles only. Do you know of any quality piston kits? If so do they have a low profile gas block that can fit over a BCM KMR rail?

Does anyone have an experience with Adams Arms piston kits? Good product? Bad?

The intended range for this rifle will be within 100 yards. How much accuracy loss if any have you noticed from barrels in the 10.5 to 11.5 inch range? What is considered average grouping size at 50 and 100 yards?

These are the questions I have been able to think of off the top of my head, I may come up with more later. Any advice ya'll can provide that would help me with getting this together would be much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

The Reaper
11-03-2014, 10:12