PDA

View Full Version : Report: Poor fitness in military poses security threat

BMT (RIP)
09-18-2014, 03:30
The Army is the heaviest branch, with nearly 16 percent of soldiers overweight, according to the most recent Department of Defense Health Survey.

http://hamptonroads.com/2014/09/report-poor-fitness-military-poses-security-threat

BMT

TOMAHAWK9521
09-18-2014, 07:37
This is not a true indicator of fitness. I have known soldier that were in top shape that needed tape tested every time and other soldiers that fit the ht/wt requirements that failed or scored poorly.

While that is true, it is still appalling to know that some of those FOBs over in Iraq had instituted "Fat Man Programs" because many fobbits had become human garbage disposals. The quantity of chow and junk food the REMFs were eating was ridiculous.

As a filthy contractor, I was almost ashamed to have ever been in the army. I never saw more fat, worthless, POS, oxygen thieves in my life. It was as if the army decided to scrape the bottom of every staff and support unit crapper back stateside and dump those turds in Iraq and A-stan. :eek:

All I could say was "Thank God for the Marines." At least that branch makes their personnel maintain the standard. Not all of them, mind you. But in general, they were in a hell of a lot better state of fitness than the other branches.

The Reaper
09-18-2014, 10:27
I scored 300 or better on the APFT for 20 out of the 25 years I served.

Every single time, I also had to lose weight to avoid the tape test.

The Army tape test is highly subjective and is not reflective of the physical fitness of the individual.

At the same time, I see a lot of people in uniform, especially females, who are just obese. I guess their CoC lacks the intestinal fortitude to confront them and take the required action.

TR

PRB
09-18-2014, 17:55