PDA

View Full Version : An Alternate Look at Handgun Stopping Power

JJ_BPK
05-26-2014, 05:59
I am tempted to say this is an ambiguous attempt to say nothing, other than to say:

"Be armed with SOMETHING..."

An Alternate Look at Handgun Stopping Power, July 08, 2011, by Greg Ellifritz

I've been interested in firearm stopping power for a very long time. I remember reading Handguns magazine back in the late 1980s when Evan Marshall was writing articles about his stopping power studies. When Marshall's first book came out in 1992, I ordered it immediately, despite the fact that I was a college student and really couldn't afford its $39 price tag. Over the years I bought all of the rest of Marshall's books as well as anything else I could find on the subject. I even have a first edition of Gunshot Injuries by Louis Lagarde published in 1915.

Every source I read has different recommendations. Some say Marshall's data is genius. Some say it is statistically impossible. Some like big heavy bullets. Some like lighter, faster bullets. There isn't any consensus. The more I read, the more confused I get.