PDA

View Full Version : Active Duty Officer to SF NCO?

chemo
02-25-2014, 19:40
Gentlemen,

I'm currently an active duty army officer with about seven years of experience. I've been thinking about applying for SFAS as an NCO but, i don't know the process. I've asked both the SF recruiting station here in washington and HRC but they were not clear on the path to take, since this is something (apparently) unheard of.

I was wondering if anyone here knows of a situation similar to mine.

My motivation to do this revolves around the fact that come retirement, i know i will regret not trying. I've done command (and it was great) but after command (major and above) is totally different. I'd like to continue working with Soldiers, work with communications equipment (didn't get to do much of that as an LT or even in the Signal Corps ingeneral), and lastly, i want my kids to be proud of me (may sound shallow but its true).

I've searched this site, and there are some threads that come close, but most are pre-commissioning discussions. I'm already commissioned, i know the risk (not qualifying).

Any advice is appreciated.

Max_Tab
02-25-2014, 19:49
I knew a guy who was a commissioned officer, got out, joined the legion, did his time came back enlisted and went SF. It can be done. Knew 2 other SF Cpts, who after finishing their team time, got out and joined the guard as Warrants.

chemo
02-25-2014, 20:06
thank you for your reply. What do you mean when you say the "legion"?

Max_Tab
02-25-2014, 20:11
Sorry, the French Foriegn Legion. He was young and looking for adventure.

chemo
02-25-2014, 21:35
No worries. FFL huh? I'v read a bit about them. Odd bunch.....but apparently very good.

Eagle5US
02-26-2014, 08:47
Go through your branch to resign your commission and then "enlist" in order to go through the 18 series pipeline.

The SF Recruiters at Bragg should be able to help you with this process.