PDA

View Full Version : Retired NCO going to ROTC

Thesis
12-25-2013, 22:23
Hello all,

I am a recently medically retired veteran, and am collecting 70% disability. As a civilian, I am trying to go to college and continue on with my life. I miss the adventure and am in hopes that I can continue to be an officer in the National Guard (or Active if my psych's said that I am fit for duty) through ROTC. I have contacted some friends who are recruiters and the POC for the Arizona State University ROTC and said that they will return a reply after Christmas.

My dilemma is that I did my own research and have found that DODMERB is the deciding factor for waiver's. I have found numerous sources and I don't know which one is the right one. The sources contained in the GOARMY.COM website said that I have to meet physical standards, As for the DOD directive on enlistment and appointment. A history of psychotic features is an automatic NO GO. Yet there can be exceptions.

My question is what are the chances that there would be a waiver for psychotic disorders?

I'd like to express my sincere apologies if I was out of line to anyone a while back (especially The Reaper)in 2009-2010. I was delirious and I was medevac'ed back to CONUS as soon as I was showing signs of depression. I had a lot on my mind during that time.

Thesis
12-26-2013, 06:22
The Army is downsizing, and that includes the officer corps. Entry standards are tightening in a big way.

Officers set the example for physical, behavioral and moral standards for those whom they command. They also have a demonstrated ability to remain objective and make good, timely decisions even under intense pressure.

Would you want to be commanded by an officer who already has a significant, established disability(ies)?

That said, good luck.

Thanks for the reply DocIllinois