PDA

View Full Version : Suppressor Questions

therunningwolf
12-05-2013, 14:36
I've searched around and done some reading but wanting to verify what I have read and seek some input from those with experience in this topic as I have no experience and the only knowledge from what I have read. I have wanted a rifle suppressor for some time now and since I am currently in a stable job and needing to build credit I have decided to go ahead and get one.

From what I am reading most suppressors attach by a special flash hider/ adapter. My rifle has a 14.5 inch barrel with a pinned and welded flash suppressor making it 16 inches overall, thus changing it out for a adapter will be a tricky task. Knowing this I started looking for a suppressor that that would fit over a A2 cage and found the Gemtech HALO.

My questions. Does anyone here have any experience with the Gemtech HALO? Have you noticed any significant POI shift? Would you recommend it? Is there another suppressor you would recommend that performs better but would require a special adapter? Thank you in advance for your time and input.

35NCO
12-06-2013, 00:39
I own a HALO. The slightly older version, but it has not changed much. Here are some things to think about:

As far as the HALO goes, if I understand what you are asking, I would call GEMTECH first to make sure they say the flashider/comp whatever you are using is compatible with the HALO. Many are not.

Second, if you are really bent on your current configuration and GEMTECH says it should work, I would considered having the mount properly set up by a gunsmith with suppressor experience, or outright send the upper to GEMTECH.
The other thing about the HALO mounting is that you cannot and should not use a crush washer. You want to either use good peel washers or precision washers that are machined. Then on that, you will want the muzzle adapter of whatever you use rocksett’ed. (pinned and welded properly if you still use your 14.5)