PDA

View Full Version : NREMT-P

GM949
08-16-2013, 15:50
Gentlemen after searching, I've found that the most recent answer to my question I was able to find was in 2009, with the others being 2006.

My question is this; I've been working as a Critical Care Paramedic but let me NREMT-P expire. I've been renewing my state license as needed. I recently left my job and am set to leave for my 18x contract within the next two months. Is it worth while to renew my NREMT-P before I leave? I've seen in my search that a lot of discussion has been back and forth about if in the 18D course they are graduating guys with their National Registry. I'm not looking for a short cut. I had an opportunity a few years ago to sit down and talk to a 18D graduate about the same time I graduated Paramedic School. I remember having a healthy respect for how intense the coarse sounded. Having also heard that the Q coarse loses a lot of guys in the 18D part, I don't want that to be my story. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Eagle5US
08-16-2013, 16:04
Renewing your cert and the 18D program are independent decisions...

Surgicalcric
08-17-2013, 13:23
You will be eligible to revert your NREMTP at the completion of SOCM. You will be required to take both practical skills eval and written IOT be receetified.

spottedmedic111
11-01-2013, 14:21
According to the 2013 USAJFKSWCS Academic Handbook, the SOCM skills sustainment course "exceeds the National Registry EMT re-registration requirements for NREMT-paramedic"

You initially graduate as an NREMT-basic.

pjbluetogreen
03-01-2014, 11:21
there are a few ways to get the your NREMT-P post SOCM. GA give state license to ATP card holders then you can take the NREMT exam. Or you can take a NREMT-P Refresher and take the test directly from NREMT. There are several good sites and sources for prep on line.
distancecme.com, NREMT.org, emtprep.com are all good sites and sources.